Spriteloq Review and Demo

As a Corona Ambassador, I try to keep up with as many third-party tools for CoronaSDK as my time allows. Some of my favorite tools are Kwik, Zwoptex, TextMate, PhysicsEditor and TexturePacker. Last night, I figured it was time to give a look at Spriteloq.

So you may be thinking to yourself, “Great, another third-party tool for creating spritesheets, I already own three spritesheet creator tools, how many do I need?” Well, the great thing about Spriteloq is that it’s integrated with Adobe Flash, so it’s perfect for animators. Just as Kwik is great for Photoshop heroes who want to create eBooks without learning how to write Lua coding, Spriteloq is great for Flash animators who want to easily embed their movieclips into apps.

Here I’ll show an example of how Spriteloq works with Flash and CoronaSDK.

After installing Spriteloq and the Flash extensions and downloading the API Library Code, the first step I did was to draw some simple animations in Flash CS6 and save them as movieclips.

Flash Animations

Then clicked Commands > Export Library as SWFs and saved them to my work folder.

Command Line

I opened Spriteloq and loaded the two SWFs that were created by Flash. I was then able to adjust the frame rate, loop options, etc. for each animation, all while getting a live preview.

Spriteloq

Next, I packed both animations into a spritesheet using the “Pack” button then exported them to my work folder. This created a .PNG spritesheet as well as the accompanying Lua file.

Export

I copied over the Lua files from the API Library Code folder to my work folder and in TextMate, created a new main.lua file. In the main.lua file, I hid the status bar, created a white background, imported “myAnimations” spritesheet and then referenced each animation by the name they were given in Flash. If you’re already interested in Lua coding and reading this, I’m assuming you can pretty easily decipher my code.

main.lua file

I also set the screen for landscape mode in the build.settings file and then opened it in CoronaSDK. Now when you tap the apple, a worm pops out and when you tap the background, a fish jumps.

Final Product

I imagine you can make much more complicated scenes with Spriteloq, but this was my first 10 minute adventure in my 30 day trial. So far I’m pretty impressed with how easily you can transfer a Flash animation to a CoronaSDK animation. Previously, you had to export the animations as a PNG sequence, then import all of the images into a spritesheet creator. Spriteloq saves the user a couple steps and also makes it easier to focus on the animations and the app, not have to learn complex tools to get there..

2 thoughts on “Spriteloq Review and Demo

Leave a Reply

