Adobe CC: Hands-On

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how I wasn’t impressed at all by Adobe’s Creative Cloud announcement. I don’t like to write things off without trying them though, so I decided to give it a shot. Since I own versions of Flash, Photoshop, and Dreamweaver CS6, I was able to sign up for $21 a month. Once payment cleared, I was met by some confusion, but I figured a trained Adobe associate could easily help me.

Once Adobe CC was paid for, Adobe Application Manager opened, so I figured I’d try out all these “new and improved” features of Flash CC. However, next to Adobe Flash in the list it said “Up to date.” I thought this was bizarre since I just watched Adobe video displaying their reasoning of why you need to upgrade to CC, but here I was unable to upgrade even after paying for it.

Flash CC?

I contacted Adobe via chat support and asked the representative why I couldn’t upgrade to Flash CC after purchasing their cloud subscription. He didn’t know why, so he put me on hold for about 5 minutes. When he returned, he said it takes up to 48 hours before you’re allowed to download the software. I said I’ve never had that issue before, when I purchased CS5.5 and 6, I was able to instantly download the files. He told me to wait 2 days before attempting to download Flash CC.

I also asked him once I download Flash CC, if it would overwrite my Flash CS6. I stressed the importance of me being able to run both CS6 and CC on my computer in case I decide to opt out of CC in the future, I need to know my CS6 is safe. He was very confused on why I would want to keep CS6, but after about 10 minutes of back and forth, he said he would have to ask someone and to please hold.

About 20 minutes later he returned to our chat and he said I should be able to run both versions. I wasn’t confident in any of his answers, so I thanked him for his time and ended the chat. Later that night, I was researching my questions and came across a forum that said Flash CC doesn’t exist yet. The announcement by Adobe was just to showcase what is coming soon, but a CC membership just promises you the update in the near future, not new software right now. I’m not sure why the representative I spoke to didn’t know that or tell me that. So apparently, me signing up for $21 a month for a year just gets me access to their current CS6 line at the time of this writing.

Since I already owned Flash, Photoshop and Dreamweaver CS6, right now the CC subscription is worthless to me. I don’t use any of their other products since the amount of video/sound editing I do is so rare, I’m fine sticking with Audacity, iMovie, iDVD, and Garageband. I did download After Effects, Premiere, and Illustrator just because I paid for them, but honestly, I haven’t even opened them since I downloaded them 2 weeks ago.

Overall, I’m still not a fan of Adobe CC. Right now the subscriptions just gets you access to their existing software, and if you already own some of it, it’s pretty much a waste. I can’t comment on the new versions since their not available to the public yet. Their online chat support was of no help, and I’m going to be out $252 if there’s no vast improvements in their software within the next year. Here’s to hoping they release something amazing soon and prove me wrong…

One thought on “Adobe CC: Hands-On

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the waste of money. I’m suspicious of the Creative Cloud offering and your story made me raise my eyebrows even higher. Perhaps you can have a refund…something doesn’t sound right about paying now for the assurance of getting it later, when it comes out. It seems like a better idea to wait until it’s ready and then make the purchase…

Leave a Reply

