My 5 Most Useful Apps

I recently had to delete numerous apps off of my iPad because my hard drive was getting full. I realized that even though I had tons of apps installed, I only used a handful of them on a regular basis (aside from the usual apps like Facebook, Twitter, Mail, Dropbox, Safari, Weather, etc.). I decided to create a list of the most useful apps I have in hopes that they’ll help you, too.

1.) Wunderlist – Free or Paid – (iOS, OSX, Android, Web browser) – This is one of my favorite apps to stay organized. You can create custom To-Do lists and share them with your friends and family. My wife and I use a shared grocery list, so as we think of things we need from the store, we can add them and we can both see the list update in real-time. I also use lists for daily to-do, work projects, personal projects and the like. It’s completely free to use, which is great for personal use, but if you’d like to use it for your business and need more features, there’s a Pro version available for $4.99 USD a month or $49.99 USD a year.

2.) oneSafe – Paid – (iOS, OSX) – oneSafe will run you $5.99 USD for the iOS version and $12.99 USD for the OSX version. While this sounds like a lot for an app, considering how great the software is, it’s actually a bargain. oneSafe securely stores all of your information such as credit cards, bank accounts, social security numbers, documents, pictures, license numbers and anything else you can think of. It has numerous options for secure access such as PIN, password, pattern, etc. and you can add double security on your data. There’s a self-destruct mode that you can enable in case your device gets stolen and the culprits fails to guess your passcode and security question answers. You might be wondering why you would bother storing your credit card number in an app on your phone when you’ve got your wallet on you as well. Say your wallet or purse gets stolen and you’ve got to cancel your credit cards. What phone numbers do you call? What was the credit card number on the card that was stolen? With oneSecure, you’ll have all of that information ready to go on your iOS device and Mac computer. Plus, it’s just great to have all of my usernames and passwords to my online accounts saved in one spot in case I forget them.

3.) DocuSign Ink – Free – (iOS, Android) – Anyone who does contract work will love this app. Even if you don’t do contract work, it’s still great to have on your mobile device. I first downloaded it when I bought my first house and had to sign and fax numerous forms. Using DocuSign Ink, you can open documents from your email, fill them out, digitally sign them, and email them back all without having to print, scan, or fax a single form. The only thing I had to pay for was to add a second person’s signature to a form, which I believe was a 99 cent in-app purchase, and it was well worth it. This is the easiest way I’ve found to quickly fill out and submit documents on my iPad.

4.) Remote File Browser – Free or Paid – (iOS Free, iOS Paid) – I downloaded this app because I wanted a free way to get to the files on the hard drive that I have hooked up to my AirPort Extreme. On your Mac, the hard drive will automatically appear. However, to view the hard drive and its files on an iOS device, you’ll need an app to do so. Remote File Browser allows you to view images, video and documents from your AirPort Extreme or AirPort Time Capsule devices. I only have experience with the free version, which comes with a banner ad, but it works just as advertised.

5.) System Status – Free or Paid – (iOS Free, iOS Paid) – For some reason, even on iOS 7, there’s no percentage marker on the battery life of your iPhone or iPad. Users are left to guess how much battery life remains by how full the battery icon is on the top. System Status (I have the Lite version) tells you what percentage of your battery remains, as well as your disk usage, CPU usage, connection stats, wifi information and cel phone information. It’s a handy app to have on hand if you’re at all curious what’s actually going on with your device.

3 thoughts on “My 5 Most Useful Apps

Leave a Reply

