Pre-Advertising

I still have two more pages of my next children’s book to draw, but just because it isn’t finished doesn’t mean I can wait to advertise it. Once the drawings are finalized, I still have to do minor revisions, export for print, send the files to Amazon, proof the book and then make available…and that’s just for the print version. The app version will open a whole other Pandora’s box of goodies.

Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 11.30.30 AM

However, the book is far enough along where I need to start getting the word out. I’ve already reserved the placeholder website: www.MaddieBearBooks.com, created a Facebook page, Twitter account, and even Instagram. I’ve been brainstorming ideas how to create more interest such as an in-app purchase inside the app that allows you to buy the paperback version of the book, a limited edition autographed version of the book, stickers, posters, and prints.

stickers

It’s my goal to turn this into a regular book series that I can continue to draw for years to come, so branding will be important. However, I’m still not certain how much money, if any, I’ll be willing to spend on advertising and marketing. I think initially I’ll try social media and word-of-mouth to see how far that goes and determine the next step from there. What are some ideas that you’ve come up with for marketing your products?

Leave a Reply

